A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Min cakes

A few days ago, Ceridwen posted some Welsh cakes she was making and they looked and sounded lovely.

Unfortunately, due to rather arcane reasons that I plan to rant about very shortly, I need to avoid most of the ingredients. Neither do I possess a Welsh bakestone. However that didn't stop me and substituting gluten-free flour for flour (a mixture of stuff including rice and tapioca), coconut oil for lard, almond milk for milk and a non-stick frying pan for a Welsh bakestone I set to and this was the result. They are also a funny shape as I only have a Hello Kitty cookie cutter and not a cookie-shaped one.

And they really were pretty good and very filling. This little lot for breakfast with a little nutmeg and a sprinkling of sugar kept me going till lunchtime when I often feel hungry at breaktime. Despite the fact that there are apparently vast numbers of different recipes, according to family traditions, it did seem a bit cheeky to still call them Welsh cakes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.