TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Sand, Sea, Sky & In-between freshening Winds...

As I arrived at the beach the fresh morning sun was just casting the first shadows on the bare blown sand. So the exercise took place with a “cold” sun in the back. It was low tide and a new formation of the peninsula Zandmotor had become visible now: as outcome of the stormy southern winds of the previous days, the motor sandbank had walked on to the north. And the out streaming waters had been forced to find a different course, looping back into an old bed.

The wind was still rather chilly and I put my sweater hood over my bonnet to keep warm. I saw the gulls flying up and down, the long lines of cormorants far away low over the still agitated sea.
And so I strolled my play-way up and down the waterline, through the undeep flow and made my pictures. I felt deeply relieved and at ease though nothing special or surprising took place.

I had a chat with a young Zandmotor-expert who follows the changing process from day to day. He showed me some new details of the development. And I learned how much mindful attention you need to discover what is really going on below the surface of the changing tide. Most people walking down there see only sand and water, high or low and shells of course.

And for today my picture shows you how the newly rising surf stretches its long rolling punchline up against the sandy reef, blown out by the strong winds into frayed white crests. This interplay between the sandy Earth, the strong grin of the infinite Sea, and In-between the freshening Winds...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.