kiwifraser

By kiwifraser

Trying to keep ahead of the storm winds

As I left a work meeting in Leeds at 3pm this afternoon, I heard the news about the 100mph hurricane gales hitting Wales and heading north east.

Given I was heading north west, I had to choose either the M62-M6-M74 via Manchester, or the higher snowrisk Scotch Corner A1M-A66-M6-M74. Luckily I chose the latter, as accidents and high winds closed both the M62 and M6 while I was half way across the country on the A66 looking at this view.

Driving along looking out the window for signs of adverse weather, made me feel a bit like one of those American twister chaser vans you see on TV.

I ended up on the M6 at Penrith about 5pm, an hour or so ahead of the strong winds. I felt quite lucky to be moving along steadily towards home, with just the minor inconvenience of rain, sleet, and standing water to contend with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.