Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Der Vorhang geht auf.

The curtain rises.

Had a rather busy day today. I've been at the office until noon, rushed to my parents' place to grap a quick lunch and then headed out into our forest for work. A pretty big part of our farm is woodland and part of the maintenance work there is to fell a ceratin amount of timber every year. This has to be done either when the ground is frozen (thanks to climate change this's not happening this year) or when the ground is dryish. It was dry enough. And the work is everything but finished - will be there again this Friday.

After dinner I headed back to Munich. Mostly because I did not want to sit at home all evening and already had made plans with Laura - my usual victim subject for portraits - to head out for drinks.

The blip shows Laura hitching a ride looking at the passing by traffic right in front of my flat.

I tried a technique that was completely new to me: slow sync flash. For that you use (surprise, surprise) flashlight, combined with a long exposure. The resulting picture has a blurry (or in this case light traily does this word make sense) background and a pin-sharp foreground/main subject. Really interesting - and, if you asked me, perfect for party photography. At least with DSLR cameras you can also choose when you want the flash to fire: either at the beginning of the exposure (front curtain sync) or at the end (rear curtail sync). I chose the rear curtain (2. Vorhang in German), as I can't think of a situation where the front curtain could be useful...

This is my rear curtain slow sync flash entry for the Technique Challenge.

Any critique and advice how to improve slow sync flash photos are more than welcome and would be very useful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.