JMK

By JMK

Two Heads are Better then One

After my physiotherapy on my knee I went and did some shopping and stopped and had a look around where the building is coming down to see how much more was down from yesterday.

Then I took a walk through New Regent Street on my back to the car. I thought this shot was interesting with the Wizard and his apprentice. They were very busy working out something and had their heads together. I am not sure what the workmen thought if it all. I do like the apprentices footwear.. one red the other green.

The Wizard of Christchurch, or Ian Brackenbury Channell, better known as Jack to his friends, first burst forth on Christchurch in a giddy blaze of prankster controversy in the mid-1970s.

You can see his familiar double-ended Volkswagen is parked in New Regent St, a natural drawcard for curious tourists.

Before the earthquakes you could find him Cathedral Square dressed as a Wizard in a black gown, wizard's hat and staff and wearing a long flowing beard, his topics of oration were, for the most part, deliberately controversial and frequently whimsical. His maiden speech in Cathedral Square in Christchurch, New Zealand on September 17, 1974 was greeted with derision and eggs, later ones by objections from the City Council, but after many battles with bureaucracy he is now an institution and tourist attraction. Some allege that he even receives state money for bringing in tourist revenue.

For more information on the Wizard of Christchurch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.