Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Richard Jarrell: A Celebration

On 28 December 2013, my friend and mentor passed away. I paid tribute to him two days later with the blip We are poorer for losing Rich which has gone viral in certain circles.

Today, family, friends, colleagues, and students gathered at Winters College Dining Hall at York University to celebrate his great life and good times. It was a lovely memorial. Rich would have approved, I think. I was surprised and pleased to see my blipfoto tribute was posted on a remembrance board with a few others from societies to which he belonged. I am glad to have met the family and I am humbled that my words moved them and gave them comfort.

At 19, Rich started his academic career poor as a church mouse but with a posse of loyal friends. He moved to Canada in the late-1960s to earn his doctorate and, in part, to start his career in a country not consumed by war. Nearly 50 years later Rich's life ended but he departed this realm a man with a tremendous wealth of friends that no amount of money could never buy. Rich was a man of great passion and integrity. He was loyal and true. He also had a wry sense of humour. Around 150 came to share memories of Richard. I should be so lucky to have so many when my time comes.

The rose on the one card and the flowers in the background pay homage to Rich's great love of horticulture. The card at left notes a scholarship fund has been set up on his behalf. Richard was always available to and supportive of his students. The scholarship is a fitting way to recognize his passion for education.

Farewell my friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.