Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Not so

precious.

Sad to say I didn't know this would be the last pullover/jumper/sweater my mother would knit for me. I wore it for many years until the elbows wore out and then it had a second life as a cat bed. At some point it was accidentally washed in warm water by machine; fatal to wool. The cable pattern is still discernible but what I believe is fisherman's knot is not visible.

Mum was always knitting in the evenings whilst listening to the wireless, usually BBC Home Service in those days, most often a pullover for me from a pattern which I chose. She was in her fifties when she began tackling Arran patterns which were quite challenging for her. In later years she only crocheted so we have a fair number of doilies and runners which have faired better than my old pullover ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.