Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Flatiron, NW

It wasn't foggy enough, or moody enough for me to emulate Alfred Stieglitz's classic portrait of New York City's iconic skyscraper, so I had to employ my Olympus' "grainy" art mode instead.

This is Bellingham's "Flatiron Building", so called because of its wedged shape, resembling an old time clothes iron. I've learned that the building, constructed in 1908, six years after the New York Flatiron, was Bellingham's first skyscraper.

This intersection is one of my favorites not only because of the interesting layout of the converging streets anchored by the big wedge, but because many of my favorite haunts are within arm's reach from where I stood today snapping this photo. Depending on which direction I turned, I could see a movie, relax with a Bee's Knees, get a mute for my cello, get eggs benedict, a caramel macchiato, or maybe a plate of oyster shooters and some fried okra.

What a great little town!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.