Robbwood1973

By Robbwood1973

59 years ago....

My first day at school.

Shyness personified.

Year: 1955

Location: Victorian country town of Yea.

Camera: Kodak Box Brownie

Photographer: Mum. Now at 85 has a nifty little digital + ipad to show them off.

Head
: My sister Janet. Always in the thick of life. Still is.

School was located only a few blocks "up the hill" from home.

Story goes I came home for lunch. After which....

On being told... "Back to school now Christopher, hop in the car"

I announced... "But I've been!!!

I had no conception my education required another 16 years!!

I evidently put up quite a battle between the house and the car!!

Guess my folks had made the nest too comfy. :-)

This blip motivated by the tag OldFashionSP

My dear parents 65th Wedding Anniversary tomorrow.....no less!!!

Plus our eldest grandchild, Tyler ...

who commenced school this year at the grand old age of three in Macau!!

Light years away from his grandfather's experiences.

How exciting and what variety life keeps throwing up.

PS: From that day forward in 1955 I always went to school with a lunchbox!!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.