Analogue in a digital world!

Under orders today. Take a day out and recover from the flu. Properly recover. Stop stressing out about the rest of the world.

So, I've been doing just that.

A day listening to albums. Old albums. All on vinyl. Analogue all the way through, beginning to end. From the NAD turntable (here) ending up with what I realise are my grossly underused Mission LE721 speakers. Small but pack 100w RMS into a small box. They simply blow everything else I’ve got into oblivion. Sitting opposite them and just listening to, no, drinking in the music.

It's only when you sit back and and immerse yourself (like we used to), do you get the feeling, the depth the total enjoyment of music. Vinyl simply does has a feeling that today's digital world doesn't have. A colour and ambience, depth and tone.

Despite all the noise and crackles (my disc cleaning kit went long ago), I've got a kick and enjoyment out of listening to some old albums today.

Fleetwood Mac - Vintage years. Old Peter Green blues.

Rush - A farewell to kings. Progressive rock at it's pinnacle - listen to Cygnus X-1.

Supertramp - Crime of the Century. Oh joy.

Yes - Time and a word. Their second album. Not well received but I love it. Chris Squire's thumping and ripping bass and Ian Anderson's vocals! Like their older stuff too (still) but this is one of my all time favourites.

Some Floyd - Animals (I remember stood waiting outside what I think it was Selectadisc on Bridlesmith Gate, off the Old Market Square in Nottingham on the day it was released. Sad but true!). Wish you were here, and, of course Dark side of the moon. Syd Booths was my go to place for music in Sutton or Mansfield.

Richie Blackmore's Rainbow - Rainbow Rising (Volume up a few notches....then a few more). The fantastic voice of the late great Ronnie James Dio. A great album but Side 2, Star Gazer (Cozy Powell’s drum intro setting the scene) and A Night in the Black - a rock masterpiece! (Tilly didn’t much enjoy this though).

And it’s barely lunchtime. A lifetime from a lifetime ago. All in a morning.
I may well add to this later in the day.

But, tell me, when and if you get a few hours to wind back the world, un-tick a few tocks, to just sit and listen - what’s on your list?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.