CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Daffodils by the Painswick stream

I needed to visit the health clinic today, and a new doctor. To not have to wait a long time for an appointment, I had to take an early slot, which meant being there by 8-50am this morning. My doctor was very good, as they generally are at our GP practice, which combines anthroposophical medicine with the mainstream. I was finished by 9-15am and as the rain had stopped by the time I came out, I took a stroll into the rear garden of the practice.

The surgery was purpose built on the side of the steep banks of the Painswick stream as it is called, one of the rivers that form the Five Valleys of Stroud, very close to where it joins the River Frome. The paths down through the gardens are well maintained and stepped with a range of interesting plants that are used in anthroposophical medicine and all labelled neatly. But at the bottom of the slop[e the ground turned to mud and was impassable, sadly as I would have liked to walk to the where the rivers join.

I was delighted however to see a few clumps of daffodils already in flower. The early plants of late winter such as snowdrops and crocuses have only just appeared in any numbers, but I don't recall seeing daffs so early. There must be a very warm micro-climate down in this little glade. The river was running fast and is rather muddy. I wanted to get close-ups of the flowers with their lovely trumpets, but this was as close as I could get. Roll on springtime. At least it is still light at 5pm now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.