Constant Exposure

By constant

City Light

Emma's last soccer game today went very well. Cupcakes and medals given out at the end.

Holly's final game was a disaster. It was very cold and the rain started coming down hard with a strong gusty wind. They tried to play on through it but we all finally gave up and scrambled for home. No cupcakes or trophies given. Just lots of frozen wet miserable kids that, if asked, would not elect to play soccer again next year.

I think Holly was in shock and I don't blame her. I remember as a kid having to play rugby. Fingers felt like glass and grabbing the wet slippery rugger ball felt like they shattered on each contact. Tying laces was infuriating. But the thing I remember the most was getting chilblains. Boy were they sore. Gives me the shivers just to think of them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.