Remembrance Sunday

Poppies seem to be the blip of choice for many today, so I've included one here along with an attempt at a self portrait. Hmmm. I don't take good photos at all. My face is so unsymmetrical and it's a weird mix of features that don't quite look right together in a photo. I come across much better on video, and even better in real life. I guess my personality doesn't entirely make it's way into a static image.

But my self doubts aside, beside me is the photo I've been waiting for for a long time. The photo of mine that I am impressed enough with to use as artwork in my own flat. I had it printed up, about 5 feet wide and framed ready to go up but I need to change the colour of the wall first. I took it while I was on a walk with my Dad in Italy last year, where he's lived with his wife since they retired about 10 years ago.

The poppy has become a symbol for people we've lost and slowly I'm losing my Dad to dementia. He has good days and bad days and still knows who I am but the day to day is becoming increasingly unfamiliar to him.

But the poppy is also a symbol of remembrance. Today we remember the men and women who lost their lives on the front line fighting for our freedoms that all too often we take for granted now. With my photo, I'll always keep the memory of the good times with my Dad which I also took for granted once, but never will again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.