Incarcerated

Going Nowhere

Just when you think things can't possibly get worse, they invariably do. I didn't quite hit rock bottom yesterday. Hopefully I have now. With more urgent things than I was able to cope with, another one landed on my desk yesterday. We've had a bit of work pending for months now, a relatively simple job, but it's kept getting delayed because of other priorities. It's now gone right to the top of the pile. It's to do with water. It will be of no surprise to hear that there's too much of it around at the moment and in the wrong places. In a public health context that's not good and I have to get the protocols in our system. No choice really. It's a case of once you take on responsibility there is no way of shirking it. Everyone in the office is stretched to the limit at the moment.

I'm trying to keep things in perspective though. At least I'm not trapped by the water itself. And over in Ireland, where I should be right now, TJ had no electricity, no internet and no mobile phone coverage. Happy Valentine's Day. I'm so sorry.

The only saving grace of a shitty day was your response to yesterday's therapeutic moment of creativity. Thank you so very much. You helped me just about keep my head above the shitty water I spent most of the day in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.