Plus ça change...

By SooB

It's Saturday Night

Proclaimers Sunshine on Leith album: number 10.

Well, it's plainly not Saturday night any more. But if you had had a Saturday night like the one in the song, then this would be what you were reaching for on the Sunday morning. A surefire hangover cure. Not only quells the physical symptoms, but also the soul-destroying regrets that can flood in. Best combined with a full fried breakfast.

I'm happy to say my Saturday night and Sunday morning were nothing like that. Went to the Remembrance poppy laying at the village War Memorial, then off for a walk up Berwick Law and a stroll on the beach - which was bathed in that slanting, beautiful autumn afternoon sunlight.

Fireworks display coming up later (so I'll miss the BAFTA broadcast). As mentioned at the last firework outing, my big tripod is in France. I do, however, have another one which we got free with something (yes, it's that good...) but it is broken: it has a missing leg lock thingy, and more importantly, no quick release plate to screw the camera into. So I have taped my wee gorilla pod tripod onto it, using some pieces of radiator snap to stop the top bit bending under the weight of the lens. Very Heath Robinson. But it'll be dark, so who'll know? One day, when I'm a squillionaire, I'll buy a decent tripod.

So, no politics today (phew), but still managed to write too much out of a lazy kind of a day. Couldn't find anywhere for you to hear the song. Sorry. Imagine a couple of drunk blokes singing the lyrics below and you should get the right impression.

It's Saturday night

It's Saturday night, I'm feeling on song
I think I'm alright, I know I'm all wrong
The drink that I had three hours ago
Has been joined by fourteen others
In a steady flow

So let me walk straight, don't let me feel pain
I'm gonna scratch cars, with my keys again
cos when I go home and fall on my bed
If it doesn't leave my stomach, It'll split my head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.