Jens

By jens

Lee

In the evening I went downtown once more.
I came into a park where I saw Lee. He was calling his best friend from a public telephone.

I wondered why he hadn't shoes on and sat near him.
After he had finished his call I introduced myself and asked for a picture.

Lee is 21 years old and came from Medicine Hat, Alberta two weeks ago in order to work in Calgary. He came here in the hope to earn more money - in Medicine Hat the average wage is 6 CAD/hour, here in Calgary it is 12-15 CAD/hour.

Since Lee came here he sleeps out in the streets because he cannot afford an apartment. During the day he is looking for work and asks people for spare money. Lee wants to work at the Calgary Stampede that is going to take place from July 6-15.

Lees parents are both Germans and so at the end he said with a smile on his face:
"Wie gehts? Gut?" (How are you? Fine?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.