We Dive at Dawn (noon actually)

Today I had booked myself in for an 'Introduction to Scuba-diving' with Reefers and Wreckers based in Speightstown. I have always wanted to try it and this was a great chance to do so.

On my course along with me was a woman from Canada and her daughter (Joanne and Kayla), making up our complete beginners group. We started the morning with the compulsory safety dvd and then moved on to instruction on the equipment itself and the hand signals used underwater. We then got kitted out in all the gear, loaded up the vehicle and headed north a short way up the coast to Port St. Charles.

After getting the gear on we headed into the water to do the tests we had to complete before we could dive. After a bit of a false start I got the hang of it and once we were all happy we set off.

It was amazing! Swimming around at a depth of 22ft deep we saw all sorts of tropical fish and a variety of different corals. All too quickly we got the signal to turn round and head back to shore. After surfacing we were all amazed to be told that the dive had lasted about 45 minutes.

This is not a great picture and I have broken one of my rules (to not appear in my blips), but I got such a buzz from the experience that I decided to blip this photo of me and Phillip, the very patient and helpful instructor who took us out. This shot was taken just after we emerged from the Sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.