Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Happy Visit

The sudden death of one of my friends a few weeks ago, made me realise that life truely is Carpe Diem and to act on instant as often as I can. Today I thought of ma's friend in Rotterdam and rather than make a phonecall to her I went for a visit and she was most pleased as she seldom gets a visitor anymore ~ let alone on a week's day.
OH this was a welcome hour to the 2 of us!
I'd loved to take ma along too, but can't take her away from her dwellings on instant anymore, so I went out alone and knew that would be welcomed by ma's friend, who remembers me from childbirth onwards

I love the smile on her face!
It so fully expresses who she is and I'm in awe over her stamina to face life with this smile for more than 95 years onwards ~ she's almost 96 and told me she'd rather be referred to as a 96 years old than a 95 as she will close the 96 soon and thus start her 97th year of life; she'd wish she could do more than walk with her stick and go about slow at her tasks etc. Growing old isn't fun as you must give up capacities time and again and than all those friends you loose while growing old...
She's lost her husband 20 years ago what was painful, but the sudden loss of her youngest son 8 years ago she'd rather not witnessed; life is unpredictable she's learned

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.