PandaPics

By pandammonium

Not getting the message

When we moved onto the boat, we got rid of the telly. With the lack of telly, we stopped watching live TV. This meant we didn't need a TV licence. Hurrah.

I thought I'd easily be able to cancel it on their website. Not so. It seems if you move, you must keep giving them money, otherwise they don't believe you and want all manner of intrusive proof of your moving and not needing a licence. I wasn't comfortable with this at all.

I went on Twitter. They sent me to their website. See above.

I decided to hit them where it hurts: I cancelled the direct debit. The next day, I found the paper licence, and filled in the change-of-details, and squished in a note to say I didn't need a licence anymore. These two acts produced a flurry of communications.

The first was to the effect of, "Oh noes, you've cancelled your direct debit; please set up another direct debit." Hah, I thought. No chance.

The second was to the effect of, "If you want to cancel your licence, you'll have to fill in this complicated form and send all manner of intrusive proof of your moving and not needing a licence." See above.

The third was to the effect of, "We owe you a refund. Here's a cheque." Great, I thought. It's over.

Today's post brought a letter to the effect of, "Oh noes, your licence expires soon, you should renew it." Expires soon? Didn't I cancel it after all?

I imagine there'll be another flurry of communication when I fail to renew it. In the meantime, perhaps I'll watch live TV. Bet there's nothing on anyway.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.