Life's tangled skein

By atp

Airfix or Hornby?

Does anyone remember making Airfix models when they were young? I do - my bedroom used to have various planes flying from the ceiling, dangling on pieces of fishing line. I could recognise the majority of WW2 aeroplanes, and could put an Airfix kit together in no time.

Cameron and I decided to work on one together today - not a plane, but a car. A rally-style Ford Fiesta, to be exact. Skill Level 2. Well, either kids are expected to be much more skilled than they used to or I have become a bit rusty. It was so hard to get clean edges, and some of the pieces are ridiculously fine.

As I write, we have given it up for the evening, but we have a chassis with seats, wheels, wheel arches, a gear stick and steering wheel. And a crash protection cage, which includes the three large but skinny pieces on the right hand side.

And that took about three hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.