Lost boots

A beautiful crisp morning and the first frost of winter. I had a disturbed night with Rowan and woke feeling stiff and bad tempered. Murron missed the bus because we couldn't find her boots, which meant a mad rush to get her to school on time. Unusually it was a blessing in disguise, as driving home a gate left ajar caught my eye and I decided to stop and have a wee explore. It was as I imagine walking into Narnia might feel. Seeing a magical forest before you dusted with frost, backlit from the sun. It was completely still and the various grasses looked as though they were coated in sugar. I met a couple of game keepers walking their gun dogs who told me that it's a good place to see Roe deer and watch a family of foxes. It was such an unexpected treat, after such a bad start to the day. Maybe Murron should misplace her boots more often!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.