2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Sir Tom Finney

Football, sport and Preston have lost one of their greatest ambassadors.

I never met him. I never saw him play. But I know from the many interviews and anecdotes I have heard over the years that he was a true gentleman.

Born in 1922, Tom Finney played for only one club and his country.

He was born in Preston and only ever wanted to play for Preston. The Italians tried to lure him with big money and fancy houses and cars. But that wasn't for Tom.

He played over 400 games for Preston and 70 games for England, while working as a plumber.

The statue, somewhere under all these tributes, is called The Splash.
It represents an iconic image of Tom at Chelsea sliding through a puddle to get the ball.

It usually has a fountain but it was turned off to allow tributes to be laid.

Much earlier than this photo I was heading to Accrington to measure a race so I stopped to say a prayer. Local radio asked me for a few words. I guess what I said was ok because they kept playing it in news bulletins.

So I called on my way back, bought my ticket and went to the game wearing my Carlisle United shirt and my AFC Fylde hat. It just seemed right.

At the game there was a beautifully observed silence before the game. Tom's family received wreathes from Preston North End and Leyton Orient.
The Preston players had their usual numbers but all had the name FINNEY above.
Then on 7 minutes the whole stadium rose its feet for a minute's applause.

The game itself was a 1-1 draw and will quickly be forgotten as a game.

The tributes will be enduring.

Tommy Doherty was asked who was better, Lionel Messi or Tom Finney. The Doc said it would have to be Messi because Tom is 90!

Bill Shankley once said Tom would get into any team in the world, still wearing his overcoat!

I have referred to him as Tom out of respect.
He was once asked why he didn't use his title.

His answer was "I was born Tom and I will die Tom. Sir was just something I picked up along the way".

God bless you Sir Tom Finney. May all the leaks in Heaven be small and the pitches smooth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.