isbi

By isbi

Korean Art

We had to sign a customs declaration on entering Korea declaring we were carrying no "indecent or obscene materials" or anything to offend public morals. 200 metres from the airport stands this impressive art work. Maybe to remind us?

I need some sympathy as have just had all my shampoos, brand new makeup, perfume etc confiscated. I had followed all the rules with everything less than 100mls and in a plastic bag. Got through Sydney OK, but they have really tightened up the rules with the Sochi games terrorist threat and anyone going to Russia was hauled out and ANYTHING liquid, aerosol or gel taken and put in the bin. Even the nice, expensive travel containers I bought. Oh well, I just hope the strict security is effective. I support it, but just wish I had known to put these in the checked luggage.

Seeing there is wifi at the airport I am blipping early today in case I don't have another opportunity.

PS later:
We have wifi after all tonight, but have already blipped today. Still I will add a few notes as so much happens when travelling, and if nothing else it makes a good diary for me. Good trip to Vladivostok from Seoul and got through all the formalities at the airport very quickly, although they seemed to take longer over our passports than anyone else's. May have been the only Aussies arriving.

We have arranged transport to and from at each stop and as on our last trip it worked perfectly. Our driver, Alexander, said it was quite a warm day - hadn't snowed for about an hour. Plenty about on the ground. It was about -5C I think, and certainly cold, but in a pleasant sort of way. We went for a walk this afternoon and only my hands were a bit cold - thicker gloves tomorrow.

Were are in the same hotel as 18 months ago. Fortunately this time it has been updated a bit. Our room is quite OK (probably =2* Australian standard) but last time it was the worst of the trip with Stalinesque plumbing and a large bag of rotting shellfish on the neighbouring balcony. A least we can work the toilet and find the light switch which wasn't the case in last night's much flasher accommodation in Seoul. I blame that for leaving my power adapter behind - because we had to take the key card out of the slot to turn the lights out my ipad didn't charge. So I put it back on this morning and in the hurry to leave forgot to pull out the adapter. *#&%. Luckily I have a spare, but so annoying. That's tip 2 for Russia travellers after this morning's disaster with losing all my toiletries. Hopefully these things don't come in threes and it's all smooth sailing from now on.

Thanks for all your comments above. It's wonderful to be able to share our trip with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.