Cruachan

By Cruachan

Loch Voil and Stob a Choin.

Nice day again so drove up Loch Voil almost to the hotel at Monachyle Mhor and took this near the head of the loch. The bigger Hill in the distance is Stob a Choin, a pleasant and relatively unfrequented Corbett - most walkers tend to head to the Munros on the other side of the Glen. I climbed it with my son three years ago on my second attempt. The first, a decade before, was the only occasion I've nearly killed myself hillwalking when in a very frozen January by myself I slipped on an ice covered rock while crossing a stream on the walk in and got swept along down and over a couple of small waterfalls, loosing part of my front teeth in the process and nearly concussing myself in the freezing water. I've since treated ice with a great deal more respect!

Always like the tree in this spot. It's perched on a boulder with on the face of it little soil and exposed to all the elements, but nevertheless continues to thrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.