Walkway

Driving into the Alexandria docks, the first thing that bulked in front of me was this enormous cargo ship (mainly transporting cars, as I learned later). The Filipino deckhands were friendly and one suggested I come on board. The guy recruited to show me around was Ukrainian, less friendly and more conscious of the narrowness of the window I was allocated by the captain (whom I never met). I don't blame him in the least; he didn't know me from Adam and could easily have refused. I had perhaps 10 minutes or so, a tiny Lilliputian squeak of time on such a Brobdingnagian world. So we caught the lift to the top deck. It was like standing on a skyscraper in the middle of The Liffey, a startling overview of the south docks, towards the mountains. I asked if I could shoot his silhouette (above) and he kindly obliged when he realised he wouldn't be recognised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.