Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

D is for....

Its been many weeks that I haven't taken photos for my Gosport project (failed on all counts there then) but due to weather mainly haven't been able to get out and get the shots I wanted for my project (work and illness also haven't helped). Although this shot isn't as pretty as my rose in yesterdays blip (thank you one and all for the comments and ratings) I have decided to focus this blip on my mini project.

D is for...diving museum. Here is some information (supplied by the website) that I have found:

The co-inventor of the diving helmet, John Deane, lived in Gosport from 1835 to 1845 during which time he discovered the Mary Rose. The first diving helmet ever sold by the inventors was to a Gosport mariner, Henry Abbinett. Gosport represents a natural home for the country's premier historical diving museum.

The 18th century saw an explosion of interest in recovering treasures from sunken vessels. Experimentation with diving bells was followed by the invention of the diving helmet in the 19th century – commercial diving was born. After the Second World War, sport diving became popular. Today, divers can work at depths as great as 300 m doing everything from military operations, oilfield support, salvage and construction to fish farming, archaeology, research – and even just for fun! From ancient to modern, it’s all at The Diving Museum.

The Diving Museum is an outreach project of the Historical Diving Society and it is manned entirely by volunteers.


Normally there is an old diving suit out the front of the museum that I was going to get a close up of but due to the weather the suit is now situated on the inside. By the time I got to the museum it had closed early so took a photo of one of the suits outside and some of the diving vessels. It is all really quite interesting when you read some of the history.

Like I said not as pretty as the rose but has spurred me on to continue my project. This week all in all has been pretty crap really and this has certainly taken my mind of things for a while. Whilst being off for half term I am certainly going to try and make the effort to blip and comment each day. I have realised how much I have missed it.

Have a good week one and all :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.