Plus ça change...

By SooB

Escape

We all escaped from the house today for a short walk along the Roman Road - it being a ridge-top path we figured it would be the driest spot. It was, but only barely. After the escape came cauliflower and blue cheese soup (voted better than the cauli and cheddar one yesterday) and then, a few hours later, a roast chicken dinner with all the trimmings, and some of the trimmings from other roast dinners probably - I think I'm saying I went a little overboard on the trimming front.

All this and other displacement activities later failed to take my mind off a school problem or rather suite of problems that I will have to try and deal with tomorrow. (School as in whole school, rather than my kids.) I think it will require some subtle diplomacy, not something I am very skilled at in French. But things are happening that oughtn't to happen, and I feel I have to make a difference. However, the meetings tomorrow are not to be dreaded as they should give me a chance to get some folk on 'my side' in the battle to come on Wednesday at our big meeting of the 'school board'. So, if it is really true that a trouble shared is a trouble halved, I may be able to sleep tomorrow night.

In lighter moments today, I learned that those industrial shredders that can destroy anything (metal, etc) have a fatal flaw. Mars bars. If anyone can confirm this curious 'nougat' of information* I'd be grateful.

*This pun copyright Mr B 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.