fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

Undaunted

A significant snowfall (as the meteorologists say) fell overnight and the winds blew and the snow piled up against the back door this morning was twice as high as the corgis. Fortunately the front door has a little porch.

Needless to say, there was shovelling to be done, and with the snow up past my knees in places, the task was a little daunting, to be sure. Janet did the walkway & back steps, and I tackled the driveway and super tall windrow left by the plows.

I stopped to take a breather (& take photos of my progress) and might have given up and left the rest for tomorrow if it wasn't for the dialogue in my head. I couldn't help thinking about the phone call I received last night from a man asking about the flash I had for sale. The conversation started like this:

Him - "I'm calling about the flash you have for sale."
Me - "OK"
Him - "Does it belong to your husband?"
Me - "Excuse me?!"
Him - "I'm just wondering if the flash belongs to your husband."
Me (spluttering) - "The flash is mine!"
Him - "Oh. How long have you been taking pictures?"
Me (snarling) - "Since I was about 10 years old!"

No I did not hang up, and I think I managed to remove some of his doubt that I could possibly know what I was talking about by the end of the conversation, but since then I have been mentally rehearsing the various better responses I could have come up with. By the time I had thought of a few good ones, the driveway was done - or at least wide enough to get the car out.

Feel free to suggest appropriate responses for the next time I have to talk with a male of that, uh, calibre. In the meantime, I think I deserve a beer and a selection of Olympic replays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.