paulcoates95

By paulcoates95

The Packhorse - Widdup

Two years ago, with my brother in law Paul J, we walked the coast to coast (St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay) 200+ miles - and we walked it in 7 days for charity. I proper buggered up my back. It took me over a year to find the right medication/treatment (following MRI's, cortisone injections, tramadol by the neckful). For the past 8 months I have been pain free, though medicated. I got back to running, and so this photo is taken on an old favourite run of mine. 11 miles. Through hard castle crags, round to the packhorse in Widdup, down through heptostal and home.

My back held up, even if my legs weren't so pleased. I felt very good and very tired when I got home.

The Packhorse is an interesting pub. In the middle of nowhere, no signal, it's on the Pennine Way - so it gets lots of walkers. An amazing location, with the grumpiest owner in the world (do not ask if they serve chips!). I'm very fond of the pub, and am amused by his taciturn nature.

It was a great run, passing a great pub, signalling my return to fitness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.