Sunset at Clova Bay

Today I drove from Ruby Bay near Nelson to Clova Bay in the Marlborough Sounds, after spending the night at Cable Bay. I tried to paddle around Pepin Island this morning but the westerly was getting up and the sea was choppy with some white horses, so I paddled back to land and set out for the new destination. It was quite a long drive, especially as the last part from Havelock to Clova Bay is on a very windy (mostly metal) road around Kenepuru Sound and then over the hill to Clova Bay; took me a little over 2 hours to do that last bit. I've marked it on the map, if maps interest you :)

Lovely to get here, such a wonderful view from where I camped. However, just before I took this image, I'd gone looking for my glasses as it was getting too dark for sunnies, only to find I'd left the bag at the grocery shop at Havelock (yep, 2 hours away). I discovered a very helpful fact from the wonderfully helpful person at the bank - I could put a 48 hour bar on my credit card etc, and will phone the grocery store tomorrow morning. There hasn't been any activity on the card since I used it, which is a promising sign!

This is a favourite spot of mine and I'm loving being here again. Having 'lost' my wallet probably means I won't get out for a paddle in the morning though. Darn it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.