"The British are coming!"

well, in this case more accurately, the Hessian. He was part of a reenactment of the American Revolutionary (or Independence) War that took place this weekend and I thought he cut a perfect figure for the role.

I'd never been to one of those things and it amazed me just how engaged people were in that role playing. Until they actually fought their battle and I could see who was shooting at whom, I was thoroughly confused about the many different groups: Americans, Brits, Highlanders, Frontiersmen, militia, and Hessians.

Here's the kicker though: the Captain of the Hessians came to find me and asked me if I were interested in joining their group: "we have a dress that would suit you perfectly," he said. I laughed and switched to German (my first language) to say that I was French from the Alsace region. He beamed and exclaimed: "you speak German: you're definitely in! In fact, we have a party at a German restaurant in DC on wedn; please come and I'll introduce you to everyone!" It's nice to know you still 'got it!' :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.