Goal!

"This was a woebegone result for Liverpool but shame did not stop there. The equaliser was tainted, with David Ngog diving as a challenge by Lee Carsley made no contact. Steven Gerrard, on as a substitute, was unhindered by embarrassment as he converted the penalty awarded by the duped referee, Peter Walton, in the 71st minute."

That was the opinion of Kevin McCarra in The Guardian the next morning which may have been correct but I was more interested in the fact that the Daily Mirror had a great shot of this from behind Steven Gerrard with me clearly visible holding my camera in the air getting my blip.

The occasion had everything I have come to expect and love from a trip to Anfield with my brother-in-law Scott. Namely, a few pre-match beverages and catching up, a pre-match pint at the ground, with chips and curry sauce outside and a few beers back at the local after the match while we pick through the highlights of the game. This season unfortunately the football is almost incidental but we did scrape a 2-2 draw courtesy of this very dodgy penalty which Gerrard despatched with his usual coolness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.