JohnMaynard

By JohnMaynard

Old memories

Being at my parents place brings back old memories. During the last 8 years this room stayed essentially the same and so it always reminds me of being 19. Since my parents will ultimately move out at some point - the house is provided by the church while my father is in active duty - I know this shrine of my childhood will ultimately disappear. The teddybears, which stay in my parents house on my mothers explizit request ("They always remind me of you") bring back some of my best memories and accompanied me everywhere, including playing in the garden and hiking with my parents, where they served the important purpose of me reaching my destination. My parents tricked me to reach the top of some mountains and the end of seemingly endless forests by promising me more adventure stories with my bears being the main actors. I got two of them because one went missing in summer in the rose garden my mother had. The rediscovery, which took place in spring includes some metal gardening tools and two "hospital stays" at the "Steiff Teddy Bear Factory" - we took the "A friend for your life"-slogan quite literally. Anyway, my mother bought me a second one to help me to recover from losing "Alter" (Oldie). Fittingly, the new bear got the name "Neuer" (Newie), so I wasn't too inventive in the naming scheme :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.