until tried

I can't remember being massively impressed with Vs when I've had to fiddle with them before on other people's bikes, but compared to cantilevers they're massively easy to set up, requiring only two hands rather than five including the one to work the vice. Whilst one pair of the matched pair of cantis I found in the Bike Station when fixing the spare up for the first time work fine on the rear of the spare and can quite easily lock the wheel even when my weight is as far back as possible the other pair I tried to stick on the back of this on the grounds that they were lying around in a box and I needed a rear brake just weren't playing. They weren't sufficiently gripping the knurling on the stalk of the pad, resulting in swearing when attempting to lock the pad in a suitable position, and then didn't do nearly as much wheel-gripping as I was expecting, though the levers in use for this bike probably pull much less cable than those on the spare. As the man who fitted the headset three weeks ago had recommended these over the 926ALs which he said wouldn't clear the mudguards I was pleased to see that the R5s fitted comfortably, without requiring any more mudguard-hacking, despite the already-somewhat-hacked nature of the mudguard making such hacking not a particular problem. They'll be a bit unforgiving of wheel-waggle until I can find a Travel Agent somewhere but I shall be checking the wheel after every trip until I'm happy that it's got the point about not working itself loose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.