Return to the North

By Viking

Kiwi friends can guess where I was today!

Had an early start this morning for a 131km trip to Gore (or as the locals call it GORRRRR) I threw the camera in the car thinking there would be lots of opportunity to take shots but the weather on the way out was average. The skies were cool in places but not 'grabbing' enough to stop.
Spent the day listening to people about PB4L (Positive behaviour for learning) won't bore you with the details! At times what she had to say was interesting but we spent an hour yes an HOUR doing our bloody mihi. Well some people did! PB4L requires that you form a group within your school to lead the change. I am team leader by default because I am principal and I wasn't quick enough to say 'no'! And R offered himself up for sacrifice as the coach. Today we both found out what we have to do! R is going to earn his money!!!!
Anyway it just so happened that the year 9-13's are at Camp close by so I drove back with R to see how they were all doing. It is a bit like my year 4-6 camp last year - totally awesome. I don't really know the kids very well yet but they seemed to appreciate me calling in. One girl was mega impressed that I had travelled all the way to Gore for a couple of hours. I was honest and told her that I had had other things on too!
Coming back through Gore on the way home I spotted this chap again. One of the real quirks of NZ is a town's ability to identify with something and then put a bloody huge sculpture up representing it. Cromwell has fruit, Rakaia has a salmon, Taihape a giant Gumboot (wellie to my northern hemisphere friends). Well Gore is obviously famous for brown trout!

The light was lousy at 6pm so I did some close up shots of the mouth. he looks pretty ferocious to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.