Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Spreading his Wings!

Working at home on Skype this morning, so decided to get some fresh air by walking round Keptie Pond in Arbroath this afternoon - always certain to get some bird shots there! Heron was hiding amongst the trees on the island - I waited for him to stretch his neck but he wasn't in the mood. The duck that is my blip was sitting on the edge of the pond and had no fear of anyone passing by. A passerby told me there had been two of them but one went missing - the partner still stands there all day long. The passerby told me they belonged to a farmer who had tried to recapture the ducks with a cage but without success - they had been intent on maintaining their freedom I suppose!

I think - via Google - it must be a hybrid Muscovy or an Ancona with black markings. Not an expert on ducks though LOL!

It looks good in larger version as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.