0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“In any kind of relationship, we all steal pieces of the other person. The relationship can be beautiful, and everything a relationship should be, but that person, whilst in or coming out of the relationship will be a different person from when they entered into it. Making each of us ‘Kindest of Thieves’.”


This is Sam, and I first noticed him sheltering at the side of the street. I assumed he was waiting for the bus as there was a bus stop right in front, but it turned out that he was actually taking a quick break before starting work at the Ark clothing store, next door to where we were stood.

I had to work fast, and managed to get some full-length shots before having a very brief chat. He told me his job at Ark was simply to ‘keep him going’, what he loved doing was playing the drums and he was in a band, a rock and roll duo, by the name of ‘Kindest of Thieves’. He was getting called in by his co-worker at this point so I thanked him and let him go.

When I got back home, I looked the band up and they sounded really interesting. I thought it was a shame I hadn’t had the opportunity to find out more so I sent Sam an email. I haven’t received a reply as of yet, and I couldn't wait any longer, so either he hasn’t checked his email or it’s disappeared in a junk folder somewhere. So, without a suitable quote to go on, I decided to take an excerpt from an interview the band did, relating to the origin of their name - I liked it.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.