Reading

In his wonderful book "Pies and Prejudice" Stuart Maconie talks about the strange pride that those of us not born in London feel when we manage to use the Tube. While I recognise that feeling I tend not to experience it now as much as I did when I was younger. But today I entered a rarely tasted bit of Tube riding and I must admit it felt strange. Today the Tube train wasn't underground. What strange alchemy is this? While we might not enjoy travelling through dark, winding tunnels we know that this is what the Underground is all about, the clue is in the name, it's not about being out and about in the daylight and rain! I've seen the sky before from a Tube train but this one was clearly enjoying its freedom and when I left it at East Acton it showed no sign of heading back done a hole in the ground.

I then strolled around to a listed building which is iconic and almost instantly recognised by most folk in this country. It has the images of two prison reformers proudly displayed as portrait medallions high above the main entrance. Brief visit and then back to capture one of the runaway trains.

I took this at Victoria while waiting for a train home.

Brilliant sporting day for those of us who love curling - that last shot by the GB skip was wonderful. Now to curl up on the sofa and watch the football. C'mon you Blues!

Hang tough amigos; Wednesday beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.