MenaiN

By MenaiN

Singing from long ago

I was reading today about how important it is to sing to small children. I had a little glance at a slightly strangely filmed Tosca which I had recorded recently and gloried in some heavenly singing, soaring marvellously. I have happy memories of my first junior school and singing so many from these books. I was delighted to acquire them, I think via my parents' musical acquaintances, and I can play a few favourites for the children. One of the many delights of being home is having our piano back - the children bash cheerfully away on it whether I am there or not and then tinkle high keys or lean bravely on low notes while I practice. I'm not sure that the title song Okki-Tokki-unga will be getting as many outings as all that - a seal hunt features prominently and my little Octonauts-wannabe won't be trucking with that sort of think. But we can all wallow in glorious mud, sit neath the lilacs and strum a guitar, let our ears hang low and flee from the bad tempered dragon of an afternoon. If I get practising...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.