Weecritters

By Weecritters

Jim's letters

I was in a brick a brac shop in Alston in Cumbria a couple of years ago when I saw these letters tied in a tartan ribbon. The shop owner told me he had found them in a house clearance. I bought them...& to cut a very long story shorter...they were written by Jim during World War II & contained an unfolding love story from Jim's first meeting with Alice where she worked in the Naafi....he wrote about how beautiful she was & in every letter his obvious infatuation grew to love. One of the last letters he had written explained they had been told they were being 'moved out' the next day & he of course could not tell her where he was going but that he couldn't wait for his leave when he could take her to Edinburgh to meet his parents. Included in that letter was another one from a comrade & friend who apologised for opening her letter but that it was the only way to let her know he had been killed in action & gave Alice his parents address to find out the funeral arrangements.
By the time I had read all the letters to the last one with the devastating news, I felt Alice's loss.
I later did some research & found out where Jim was buried & visited his grave in Edinburgh & planted a little rose bush. I feel as though I have in a way 'known' Jim & feel privileged to have learned of his short but real love for Alice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.