Nir Levy Photography

By nir

Jimmy Carter, Arts, and Israel

Daily Experiences

1. Jimmy Carter looks up, a bit choked up, at a crowd at Emory University's theater after reading a poem about his mom from one of his many books. He spoke on the subject of art and craftsmanship and managed to completely suppress the politician's urge to talk about politics. But he did mention his dream of bring peace to Israel once. He spoke about learning carpentry, making all the furniture for his cabin in the north georgia mountain in order to forget about losing his 2nd bid for president. He spoke about the process behind his book writing and how he attains and expresses inspiration.

The bandage on his hand, as revealed by other pictures is hiding an IV drip.

2. Finished signing up for spring classes. My schedule for next semester looks different, I don't like how I won't have my 1 hour break between classes but I do like how I will have an extra hour (at least) of sleep.

3. Listed to a moving presentation from an Israeli commander for the IDF. His talk made me miss home, motivated me to express a greater passion for Israel, and made me understand and respect the process that transforms kids my age and younger into adults in a split second.

4. Found an empty room in the library and studied with a small group of friends until 3:00 for my economics mid term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.