acr83

By acr83

Buzzy Bee!

For the kiwis out there this guy needs no introduction.

For everyone else, this is a buzzy bee, a true kiwi icon. I have no idea why, but it just is.

He is the only toy we have bought for our baby. We figure we'll get given lots of toys and this one to me is an essential. I grew up with one. Mum and dad still have him. His antennae are now rusty and the string frayed and dirty and I hope this one has a journey just as long.

A friend stayed from California last year. It was his first time in New Zealand and he asked what we would suggest as the number one souvenir he should take home. Without hesitation I yelled out 'a buzzy bee!' As you might imagine, this was followed by a blank stare. I got him a miniature one before he left and I'm pretty sure I saw it hanging on his Christmas tree in a Facebook photo shortly after. I felt quite proud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.