An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Wobbly London!!

London Day 4

You've all heard of London's Wobbly Bridge - well, here is London's wobbly city skyline! Those builders should have used a spirit level, at least...

Because I used the spirit level in my aged and ancient full-frame D700 and full-frame Nikkor 16mm fisheye but pointing it up has created the chaos, sending it all over the place. The Shard is in there somewhere...LARGE

The colours are pretty much as they were, mixture of that neon blue, ambient city glow and some blue left in the sky. It did take quite a lot of shots in various places, different lenses and positions but this is about the best - my friend Des (with whom I am staying) hanging about and now knowing what it actually takes to get a decently exposed night-time long exposure. At least this wasn't a flooded muddy field at 4 a.m. and miles from the nearest house!!

Many thanks for the all the interesting comments and views on my begging blip of yesterday. As those of you who have read my 'about' will have realised, I too have been homeless, albeit quite a long time ago now. That does not make me an expert, far from it but of course I have opinions.

I beat my demons and re-joined humanity, if you like, but realise some cannot, or won't. Even if you give the keys to mansions to everybody, homelessness will still exist, that is established fact. There are so many aspects and facets to this matter and of course, Welfare "Reform" will further increase this problem, literally taking lives...


As for the taking of that image, I was walking past at the same speed as everyone else, it was not even a framed shot. I didn't check it until quite a bit later.

I probably receive about as much per fortnight in benefits as those homeless people do. I am not allowed any other income - if I do, then it is taken away, which is why I no longer take or do photography for money. Of course, I have bills to pay to keep my home that they don't. Not that in any way of course makes me a better person or their plight any better. I have £20 borrowed from my friend to last me all week up here, all food and transport. It is proving VERY difficult, to say the least!

Those begging to feed an addiction will not be seeking conversation. They are seeking money only. Even surviving on the street is extremely hard work if you are alcoholic or an addict. Communicating is even harder work and frankly, well nigh on impossible. The body language of this fellow strongly suggests a closed-off, shut-down and desperate individual.

I took the picture as I wanted to try street photography and frankly, I rather disliked taking it and I will not be seeking to take a similar picture again. It was to capture a scene in the true vein of photojournalism - making no opinion or comment other than the image itself - which is why I purposefully chose not to reply individually to comments.

So, on this lighter note and back to my favourite genre, enjoy this night-time capture of a brighter London!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.