phlog

By phlog

Objects: Toy Horse

Last summer -- who knows why?! -- I got it into my head for a few months that I was going to build little toys and sculptures out of bits of wire and stone and wood and what-not. I think I was inspired by seeing photos and videos of Alexander Calder with his Circus. I'm a docent at the sculpture park at the university where I work, and I think learning a bit about enjoying sculpture made me want to twist together small pieces of this 'n' that to maybe feel even on a minuscule scale the experience of creating something out of something else -- and especially out of found bits of nothing.

Anyway, here's one of those little toys that I stuck together last summer out of bits of detritus picked up here and there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.