The colors of the rainbow

By bergfoto

Speechless!

At last a very promising night for a "Northern Lights hunt" ... clear blue sky with lot of stars and some moonlight ... excited but not expecting this.

The weather here in the northern part of Iceland has been very "boring" ... if you like to take pictures ... for a long period of time with only couple hours of sunshine since in the begin of January. Yesterday the weather was really nice with clear blue sky and the temperature -15°C ... -28°C in Mývatnssveit a place close by. I was not very interested of going outside because of the cold but after midnight I decided to go out for a short drive in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights. My wish came true and it made me speechless.

I´m lucky to own a timer remote controller ... a Christmas present ... and decided to use it for the first time last night. I sat in my car to warm up ... when I was absolutely freezing on my fingers and toes ... and watched my camera through the window releasing the shutter all by it self. But most of the time I stayed outside watching. That´s why it came to my surprise what I saw when I looked at the photos in my camera. This purple, blue and "red" colors are not visible to the human eye but the sensor in the camera can "see it". The green color is the most seen.

I have watched the Northern Lights a couple of times before but never seen anything like this.

50/365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.