Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

A walk up the Royal Mile from Craigwell Cottage

As I was expecting visitors to arrive at Craigwell Cottage this morning, I used my parking space there as a base for a lovely walk up the Royal Mile. The weather was changeable, but as we neared St Giles Cathedral the sky was that glorious autumn blue which provides such a contrasting backdrop to the colours of the trees.

A couple of weeks ago a friend and I had spotted a new cafe at The National Library which we thought we might visit, although it's a hard decision to forego a pot of Mysore Rich at the Elephant House across the road.

We had an interesting discussion about 'What is a Book?' - which is an interesting philosophical discussion when you're in the National Library. After all they have access to copies of every book ever written. So at what point does an online downloadable ebook become a book? My friend thinks that a book isn't a book unless it is physically able to be held and made of paper. I find I'm reading more and more online (particularly since I joined Twitter), and listening to podcasts of books more rather than actually reading the paper thing. I'm sure we will return to the debate.

The guests have now been welcomed to the cottage, and we've been able to give them some recommendations for places to go and things to do while they're here. They are a group of schoolfriends who meet up often and go to different places for weekends. On days like today I LOVE MY JOB!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.