Mark Mayo, photographer

By marksmayo

Failed aurora hunt

After one of my friends saw stunning auroras in Christchurch, NZ last night, and my space weather email alerts going nuts today, I figured it was worth trying - taking a train out to Mentone Beach. Took me an hour or so to get there, and had just under 2 hours out there - it was cold, cloudy and dark. Some gaps in the clouds to play with long exposures, at least, but sadly no auroras.

Also had my first ultrasound + pilates appointment for my back today - didn't really get much out of it yet, but was cool to be able to see my muscles activating (or failing to) on the scanner.

Anyway, this picture is looking south from Mentone Beach, and you can see the Southern Cross and the two Pointer Stars in the image. Hopefully :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.