Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

...at the end of the tunnel?

What a truly miserable day. Daughter phoned me again to let me know that her GP had been unable to give her an appointment again. (She had a sore foot when I was down visiting on Tuesday and she had tried to get an appointment first thing on the Wednesday with no joy). So, faced with the prospect of waiting until Monday (five days for an acute condition) to get an appointment she caught a taxi into the centre of Glasgow and hobbled onto a train to Dundee. By the time she got here she could barely walk.

So, first thing I did this morning was to take her up to A and E where they dressed it and gave her a dose of antibiotics. She is now sitting reasonably comfortably but I must admit I am less than happy at the lengths she had to go to to get a relatively straightforward treatment. I remember the days when the student health service would have dealt with that in an instant, I remember the days when a GP appointment for an emergency was a priority - and not something that was left to chance...

That's progress for you... must remind myself to breathe deeply...

Anyway, by the time we got home I had all sorts of other bits and pieces to sort out. They of course take time and I had an appointment with the kitchen mannie at 4 so I had to have a quick shuftie through his glossy books too. In the end I made it up. I told him what I wanted, what I hated and left it to him to tell me what he thinks I need. We'll see what he comes up with.

Now, it's time to make tea and I'm going to sit down once I've done that. I'm knackered. Will try and get back to commenting tomorrow - but only if it looks like it's going to be a better day than today. Since it's Friday the thirteenth I might just stay in bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.