LaKwAtSeRa

By LaKwAtSeRa

Snowdrops

I did little research work today. My day started with walking to the Jephson Gardens and volunteering to plant 10,000 snowdrops with a flatmate. I was expecting to see more local people helping out. It turned out there were only the landscape contractors and me and my flatmate in the beginning (we were later joined in by a lady who stayed and planted for about 30mins). The fun started when a big group (family) had two little boys who were interested in planting with us. The mother was very encouraging and we had a nice time handing the boys clumps of snowdrops while they place them into the holes we have dug. When they left, another group with a very enthusiastic but rather shy little girl helped us. This time she did not just place the snowdrops into the holes, she also put soil around them. And i must say, she was a natural green thumb! She didnt mind getting her hands dirty at all! (I had my gloves all the time, i did not really fancy getting mud all over my hands). Sadly we killed a lot of worms today :( We have decapitated them unfortunately!

The soil was very muddy and it stuck hard on my shoes. That is the photo in front of you.

I will be coming back to the gardens on the weekends and see if I have successfully planted my very first snowdrops plant! If any of you live in Leamington Spa, the area where the snowdrops were planted is right by River Leam and near the Willes Road end of the gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.