Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Unbekannte Schönheit

Beautiful stranger

Street photography? Way out of my comfort zone!

Packed my camera and went for Munich’s pedestrian area. First thing I realised was, that a 35mm fixed focal lens was not the best choice – turns out (surprise, surprise) people are not really comfortable with a stranger sticking a big DSLR in their faces. I tried it anyway and scored some really mediocre photos. Then I realised my second mistake: actively hunting down the prey a subject for a photo was the wrong way. Much like in the video game Counter Strike the very unpopular tactic of camping, i.e. staticly waiting for the target to run in front of your lens, turned out to be the most efficient. So I casually leaned against Mariensäule, looking like a tourist and waited for interesting people to pass by. And that girl was genuinely the first I caught. I took some more pictures of other passers-by, but that photo was by far the best.

The blip shows a beautiful stranger running in front of my lens. In default of her name, I call her beautiful stranger #2 (as #1 is already assigned).

This is my Street/Reportage entry for the Technique Challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.